Committee Members

The President's Commission on Disability Issues and PCDI Student Advisory Committee members are a dedicated group of faculty, staff, and students representing a wide range of campus units, including but not limited to the Accessibility & Disability Service, Resident Life, Division of Information Technology, Office of Diversity & Inclusion, Facilities Management, University Career Center & The President’s Promise, Department of Transportation Services and University Libraries, University Recreation and Wellness, colleges and schools across campus.

2019 PCDI Members Photo

2019-20 Members Pictured From Left to Right: (Top) Peter Leone, Shakia Asamoah, Nancy Forsythe, Christine Hottel, Ana Palla-Kane, Melanie Kill, Deborah Mateik, Nedelina Tchangalova, Ron Padron, Kris Phillips, Alex Peterson, Teressa Ferraro, Paul Jaeger, Marie Harvey, Michelle Appel, (Bottom) JoEllen Barnhart, Will Shawhan, Amanda Preperato

2020 Members

Co-chairs Position and Department/Unit Email
Ana Palla-Kane (she/her) Senior IT Accessibility and UX Specialist, Division of IT anapalla@umd.edu
Paul Jaeger Professor, College of Information Studies pjaeger@umd.edu
Graduate Assistant    
Alex Peterson (she/her) Graduate Student, Dept. of Hearing and Speech Sciences asp12@umd.edu
PCDI Members    
Michelle Appel Director, Office of Inst. Research, Planning & Assessment mappel@umd.edu
Kosi Asabere Web Accessibility Specialist, Division of IT kasabere@umd.edu
Leonard Azonobi Capital Project Planner, Design and Construction, FM lazonobi@umd.edu
JoEllen Barnhart Lecturer, Institute of Applied Agriculture jbarnha1@umd.edu
Courtney Brown Senior Project Manager, Vice President for Admin and Finance chbrown@umd.edu
Amarja Desai Assistive Technology Associate, Trace Center amdesai@umd.edu
Nancy Forsythe Career Development Specialist, University Career Center nforsyt2@umd.edu
Cara Fleck (she/her) Assistant Director for Marketing & Communications, DOTS fleckc@umd.edu
Jocelyn Fleming Sr. Program Manager, Planning & Construction, FM jflemin2@umd.edu
Meredith Gramlich (she/her) Senior Faculty Specialist, CTCI, College of Education mgramlic@umd.edu
Marie Parker Harvey Training Development Coordinator, CTCI, College of Education mpharvey@umd.edu
Ashley Hawkins SGA - Student Government Association Representative ahawkin6@umd.edu
Cassidy Rae Henry PhD Candidate, Department of Linguistics crhenry@umd.edu
Christine Hottel Leave Coordinator, University Human Resources chottel@umd.edu
Jo Ann Hutchinson (she/her) Director, Accessibility and Disability Service jahutch@umd.edu
Bria Jackson (she/her) Resident Director, North Hill Community bjacks@umd.edu
Susan Johnston Instructional Designer, Division of IT sbj@umd.edu
Grace Karmiol Director & Title IX Officer, Office of Civil Rights & Sexual Misconduct gkarmiol@umd.edu
Melanie Kill (she/her) Assistant Professor, Dept. of English mkill@umd.edu
(Roberto) Patricio Korzeniewicz Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, BSOS korzen@umd.edu
Peter Leone Professor, College of Education leonep@umd.edu
Deborah Mateik Director, Learning Technology Design, Division of IT zdeb@umd.edu
Bonnie Miranda (she/her) Manager, Office of Faculty Affairs mirandab@umd.edu
Christopher Moore Assistant Director, Facilities-Administrative Services cmoore@umd.edu
Raymond J. Nardella Manager, Department of Resident Life rnardell@umd.edu
Dan Newsome Coordinator, Adaptive Tech Lab, Accessibility and Disability Service wdn@umd.edu
Daune O'Brien Lecturer, Department of English dmobrien@umd.edu
Taylor Oshan Assistant Professor, Department of Geographical Sciences toshan@umd.edu
Sara Olsen PhD Candidate, School of Public Health solsen@umd.edu
Ron Padrón (he/him) Interim Director for UG. Operations, College of Information Studies rapadron@umd.edu
Kris Phillips Director, Dept. of Facilities Planning kphilli5@umd.edu
Amanda Preperato (she/her) Assistant Director, University Recreation & Wellness aprep@umd.edu
Tamara Saunders Assistant to Director & Training Manager, Office of Civil Rights & Sexual Misconduct tmsaunde@umd.edu
Amanda Strausser Assistant to the Dean, The Graduate School astraus3@umd.edu
Nedelina Tchangalova (she/her) Public Health Librarian, UMD Libraries nedelina@umd.edu
Adith Thummalapalli Alumni, UMD School of Engineering aditht@gmail.com
Misti Yang GSG - Graduate Student Government Representative gsg-vpdi@umd.edu
Student Advisory Committee Members Affiliation and Program Email 
Deanna Barath Graduate Student dbarath@terpmail.umd.edu
Katherine Grady Graduate Student Kgrady1@terpmail.umd.edu
Ira Kraemer (they/she) Graduate Student, NACS, Biology ikraemer@terpmail.umd.edu
Ashley Hawkins Undergraduate Student ahawkin6@umd.edu
Cassidy Henry Graduate Student crhenry@umd.edu
Jonathan Paul Katz Graduate Student Jpkatz@umd.edu
Alex Peterson Graduate Student, Hearing and Speech Sciences asp12@umd.edu
Jillian McGuffey Undergraduate Student jillianmcguffey@gmail.com
Juhi Narula  Undergraduate Student jnarula@terpmail.umd.edu
William Shawhan Undergraduate Student, Agricultural and Resource Economics wshawhan@terpmail.umd.edu
Leah Simmon Undergraduate Student lsimmon6@terpmail.umd.edu
Adith Thummalapalli Alumni  aditht@gmail.com
Zachary Tumlin Alumni zachary.tumlin@gmail.com
Brett Wilcom Undergraduate Student brettwilcom@comcast.net
Audrey Wilke Alumni  awilke@terpmail.umd.edu